The main subtypes of lymphoma are Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma. The main difference between the two subtypes is the type of lymphocyte that is affected.

Hodgkin lymphoma is marked by the presence of Reed-Sternberg cells, whereas non-Hodgkin lymphoma does not have these cells present. According to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, Hodgkin lymphoma is one of the most curable cancers; however, non-Hodgkin lymphoma is more common than non-Hodgkin lymphoma. Moreover, Hodgkin lymphoma occurs more often in patients over the age of 55, compared with a median age of 39 in those with Hodgkin lymphoma, according to the Moffitt Cancer Center.

The types of Hodgkin lymphoma include classic Hodgkin lymphoma, comprised of nodular sclerosis Hodgkin lymphoma, mixed cellularity Hodgkin lymphoma, lymphocyte-rich Hodgkin lymphoma or lymphocyte-depleted Hodgkin lymphoma. Non-Hodgkin lymphoma is comprised of B-cell (diffuse large B-cell lymphoma [DLBCL], follicular lymphoma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia [CLL]/small lymphocytic lymphoma [SLL], Mantle cell lymphoma [MCL], marginal zone lymphoma, Burkitt lymphoma, Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia, primary central nervous system [CNS] lymphoma and primary intraocular lymphoma) and T-cell (T-lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukemia and peripheral T-cell lymphomas) disease.